American F1 2016 PS4 Championship Season 8 Round 16: Baku GP Recap

The Baku City Circuit is known as one of the most challenging circuits on the schedule. Many cars had crashes in either qualification or the race, and it really did become of a race of survival. Two cars though, showed they were the class of the field in this one, and gave us viewers a fantastic battle to watch.

Melvin Guerrero (melg222) and Edwin Garcia (MysticJoker323) qualified 1-2, with Melvin snatching pole, impressively running the harder and slower tire.

On the opening lap Edwin made an attempt at an overtake on Melvin in turn 3. Both cars though seemed to have some wheel spin on exit, causing them to touch. Luckily no damage was sustained, however it allowed Pearce Jackson (El_Majacko) to come through to the lead from third. Melvin had the worst of it dropping back to fourth.

As things progressed and pit stops played out, it was once again Edwin and Melvin running 1-2 with Edwin having the advantage. They stayed very close for the rest of the race, generally no more than a couple seconds separating them, however Edwin maintained the race lead.

On the final lap things were getting exciting as Melvin had gotten himself as close as he had been, and was right on Edwin’s gearbox coming into the esses before the long start/finish straight. As they came out of the esses, Edwin had his car snap free on him, sending him into the wall. Luckily not hard enough to take him out of the race, but more than enough for Melvin to come through for the race win. With Edwin’s straight line speed it would have been close as to who would win the race to the finish, but nonetheless it was a spectacle to watch these two drivers battle all race long.

The drive of the day would have to go to Mitchell Riggs (MitchMan009) who after not setting a time in quali, started 17th on the grid. Drove a clean race, while setting some of the fastest laps on track and drove all the way to the podium finishing 3rd. We also saw Daniel Ryan (Dubzzy__) our points leader entering this week disconnect from the server for the second race in a row.

Top 10 Finishing Order:
1st – Melvin Guererro (melg222) – 6th win of the season and new points leader!
2nd – Edwin Garcia (MysticJoker323) – 9th podium of the season!
3rd – Mitchell Riggs (MitchMan009) – 1st career podium in APSC!
4th – Pearce Jackson (El_Majacko)
5th – Alan Suter (mightymurph51)
6th – Dylan Zimmerman (dszman) – Fastest lap of the race!
7th- Dayton Cooper (Coopersonic)
8th- Niels Aelbrecht (StUrM0086)  – First points finish!
9th- Dean McKinnon (HSVDT_15)
10th- Brian Mosser (Brianmosser88)
If you want to watch the exciting finish here is the highlight!

Don’t forget to tune in next week to for the broadcast of round 17 in China at 9pm EDT Thursday night!