Precision Racing League

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site and signup to race in our different series but firstly make sure you head over to the "New Members Start Here" in the League Information section.

Stewards Reports, Protest & Appeal

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeromef1

Director
Staff member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
8,993
Location
Nicolet, QC, Canada
Full Name
Jerome Berthiaume
iRacing ID
177904
Protest

All protests relating to a racing incident must be submitted within 48 hours of event completion by filling up the following form.

Appeals

[ul]
[li]All appeals must be submitted within 48 hours of the publication of the Stewards Report as follows:
[ul]
[li]Send an email to stewards@precisionracingleague.com[/li]
[li]The subject line must be in the following format: Appeal: [Investigation ID][/li]
[li]List your PRL username in the body text[/li]
[li]Your e-mail must explain why you feel the initial decision by the Stewards was wrong.[/li]
[/ul]
[/li]
[li]Appeals shall be reasonable, logical, based on sound evidence, and related to the PRL Racing Rules.[/li]
[li]Appeals that are frivolous, incorrectly submitted, or late will be dismissed.  Repeated appeals of this nature will result in disciplinary action.[/li]
[li]Only one appeal per incident is permitted.[/li]
[li]The Appeal will be reviewed by an extended PRL Stewarding team, and a decision will be announced in the respective championship’s Stewards Reports thread.[/li]
[li]Appeals that are unsuccessful will force a 90 day period where the driver submitting the appeal is ineligible to submit another appeal.[/li]
[/ul]
 
More information
 
If you need more explication about a steward decision, please contact stewards@precisionracingleague.com.
 

[iframe]https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdAhH9Ado9Mjzx_4ttM2QjWpyzZewlJR1qfE3xElcO1JWWy1Q/viewform?embedded=true#start=embed, 800, 1550[/iframe]​
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 1: Australia - Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit (27Sep17 @ 9pm EDT) 
[ul]
[li][ID: 425] The Stewards investigated an accident that happened between Turns 4/5 of Lap 1. There were 2 parts to this accident, but the 2nd part of the accident was directly due to the first contact of the accident, so that is what is being judged by the Stewards. In Turn 4, Tron4949 was being overtaken by Iceman, with Zephyr following close behind. On the exit of Turn 4, Tron's wheel touched the right side curbing (he was on the outside line of that turn), lost traction and sent himself into the left side wall. Tron's car then stayed on the wall, but was hit in the rear by Zephyr as he was trying to position himself for the entrance of Turn 5. While Tron did lose temporary control of his car that sent him into the wall, he did not break rule 7.4 as he kept the car in the wall and did not swerve back across the track. While following closely, Zephyr did have the entire right half of the raceway to use to avoid running into the back of Tron while he was up against the wall (which that contact directly lead to the spin of Tron into Zephyr which resulted in terminal damage to both drivers). The Stewards have deemed this to be a racing deal since both drivers could have done better to avoid the situation from happening (yet did not specifically break any rules) and the fast nature in which the events unfolded. No points penalty will be assessed.[/li]
[/ul]
The Stewards investigated 2 events between DeadZero and Plasmaraider that happened on Laps 25/26. This is based on the POV submitted by DeadZero, due to no video counter-evidence being provided by Plasmaraider.
[ul]
[li][ID: 426A] The first investigation involved a blocking attempt by Plasma going into Turn 3 on Lap 25. Before going into the braking zone of Turn 3, Plamaraider has been deemed guilty of braking rule 9.4. While the maneuver would have been legal since it was a first defense, it was very late to the point where Dead had to check up to avoid contact. Due to the violation, Plasmaraider will be awarded a 2 point penalty.[/li]
[li][ID: 426B] Going into Turn 1 on Lap 26, there was contact between Plasma and Dead that result in a spin for Dead and a broken wing from hitting another car. Looking back at previous laps, Dead has been found not guilty of a dive-bomb into the braking zone to try to establish overtake. His point of braking going into Turn 1 was consistent with previous laps, which combined with Plamsa braking 50M earlier to Dead would have made it appear as a dive-bomb. Now while Plasma's gap to Dead may have closed up quickly in the braking zone, looking at the car's position and trajectory (when contact was made between Plasma's RR tyre and Dead LF tyre), The Stewards have ruled that Plasma turned in too early on what would acceptable to hit the apex of Turn 1. Due to initiating the contact, Plasmaraider will be awarded a 2 point penalty. There will be no penalty for the contact between Dead and Bobino as Dead was still sliding out of control due to the contact with Plasma.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 2: China - Shanghai International Circuit (04Oct17 @ 9pm EDT)
[ul]
[li][ID: 430] The Stewards investigated a report of a block by MBr on the front stretch at the start of Lap 7. I will start first by saying that due to the car in question attempting an overtake, this more so would fall into the category of crowding than a blocking attempt. Exiting the last turn on Lap 6, Icaman ran wide and lost a lot of speed, allowing Mbr to gain momentum and try to perform an overtake before entering Turn 1. Based from what I can tell by the video submitted, I shall note that rain had starting falling and the vehicles were still on the slick tyres. Around the start/finish line, both cars acted as if tyres touched, causing Iceman to slide and then touch tyres with MBr again. Neither car spun, MBr completed the pass, and Patlessard was able to pass Iceman and close the gap on MBr, but then the video stopped at that point. When watching the video in 1/4 speed, it can not be 100% determine if the tyres fully touched, if it could have been a potential netcode issue between the 2 drivers, or if the initial slide by Iceman was purely out of reaction and the wet conditions. Also with the video cutting off, had MBr been found of an illegal overtake, the video would not have shown in a reasonable amount of time if MBr made an attempt to give the spot back. Since no POV videos were submitted by either driver, the Stewards have no choice but to disregard the evidence and deem it a racing deal with no penalties being issues to any driver.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 3: Bahrain - Bahrain International Circuit (11Oct17 @ 9pm EDT) 
[ul]
[li][ID: 431] The Stewards investigated an incident between Falco Bronzo and MBr in Turn 6 of Lap 10. Mbr was on the right half of the track, with Falco on the left. MBr started his overtaking attempt in Turn 4, and the 2 drivers were side by side since that turn exit. While MBr had not completed his overtake yet, he moved too fat left into to Turn 6 and created the contact with Falco who was holding the left line properly and had the rights to the line he was running. Both cars spun out, with MBr taking the spot over Falco and not returning it. So, due to creating contact while attempting an overtake and not returning the position back, MBr is awarded a 3 point penalty.[/li]
[li][ID: 432] The Stewards investigated a report of an unsafe rejoin made by Plamsaraider in Turn 2 of Lap 22. Plasma rode deep into Turn 1, running off of the track and into the large apron area. As Plasma attempted to rejoin near Turn 2, Plamsa can be seen trying to keep his car a slower speed to allow CrazyCanuck and Patlessard by. However, Plamsa's nose did come out too far into the track and into the preferred racing line, making contact to the rear of Pat's car. While no damage was received to Pat, Plamsa letting his car roll out that far while under his own control is a violation of Rule 12.2. Plasmaraider has been awarded a 2 point penalty for unsafe re-entry.[/li]
[li][ID: 433] There was a request made to the Stewards regarding what was felt to be an unfair judgement by the game on a 3rd "Exceeding Track Limits" that lead to a driver receiving a 3 second penalty, which lead to a loss of position at the end of the race. While at some points this is unfortunate to some drivers since the game may not take into account if a driver gives up time or positions to make a mistake fair, it has always been the stance of the Steward team that we will not over-rule the game's ruling on corner cuts and time penalties due to the fact the car chief communicates penalty information to other drivers, which may effect the way then driver's would attack and pace knowing that they would only have to be within a certain delta, and not risk damage or worse for an overtake. The final running order will remain as it was declared.[/li]
[li][ID: 435] The Stewards investigated Turn 1/2, Lap 1 contact between Iceman153 and Piboye. Iceman got off the line better than Piboye and Megaman, and was able to take the inside line going into Turn 1. The cars were 3 wide on entrance with Piboye being the middle car. As the 3 driver's exited Turn 1 with a very short distance to the entrance of Turn 2, contact was made with the RF tyre of Piboye and the LR tyre of Iceman. That contact made Iceman veer to the left, as Megaman was veering to the right to have a better turn in angle of Turn 2. That contact sent Iceman wide, where he then would make contact with another vehicle before things calmed down with no damage, but several lost positions for Iceman. With monitoring slow motion replay, there was less than 1 second of time between when Megaman fully cleared Piboye's car and the contact made between Piboye and Iceman. Likewise, in that small time frame, Megaman was already motioning his car to the right to get a better turn in angle for Turn 2. Due to the sudden fast nature of the incident, that no one suffered any major car damage, and most importantly no one blatantly broke any positioning/crowding rules, the Stewards have deemed this entire outcome as a racing deal and no one will be penalized any points.[/li]
[li][ID: 436] The Stewards investigated contact that was made in Turn 11 of Lap 2 between Iceman153 and Plamsaraider. Exiting Turn 10, Plasma caught the curb and did not have full traction for a brief moment. That allowed Iceman to go for an overtake attempt on the right half of the straight (this would be the outside approach for Turn 11) as Plasma protected the middle of the DRS straight. For the majority of the straightaway, Iceman had a established overtake as his front tyres were past the rear tyres of Plamsa's vehicle. As the approached Turn 11, Plasma veered to the right to have a better turn-in angle, however that caused contact with Iceman's wheels, forcing Iceman onto the curbing and wide through Turn 11 and then as Plamsa went wide on turn exit, contact was made with the tyres of Iceman for a 2nd time. So for failing to leave adequate space on the outside of an established overtaking car and creating contact, Plasmaraider will be awarded a 2 point penalty.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 4: Russia - Sochi Autodrom (25Oct17 @ 9pm EDT)
[ul]
[li][ID: 438] Due to carelessly wrecking his car to leave a race instead of handling the situation in a professional manner, DeadZero will serve a 1 race suspension at Round 5: Spain.[/li]
[li][ID: 440] The Stewards investigated contact that happened between Zephyr and Megaman in Turn 2 of Lap 5. Megaman used DRS and the slipstream to establish overtake on Zephyr down the pit straight and had the rights to the left side of the straight and the outside entry going into Turn 2. As both drivers reached their turn in point, it can be seen that Zephyr's tyres locked up and caused him to slide into Megaman. That contact sent Mega wide thru Turn 3, and receive a game warning to give the position back to Zephyr due to "illegal overtake", which he did. While an honest mistake for Zephyr, the Stewards must rule as established in our guidelines. Due to creating contact and forcing a car off of the track, Zephyr will be awarded a 2 point penalty.[/li]
[li][ID: 441] The Stewards investigated contact that happened between Bobino and Piboye in Turn 2 of Lap 3. Bobino did not have any established overtake at all on Piboye going into the braking zone, and drove in much harder than Piboye which caused them to bang wheels and force Piboye into the run off area. The Stewards determined that Piboye broke and turned in at an appropriate angle for the apex, where as Bobino's angle was not good at all and the direction his car was headed was more proof of driving in too hard/dive bombing. Due to creating contact and forcing a car off of the track, Bobino will be awarded a 2 point penalty.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 4: Russia - Sochi Autodrom (25Oct17 @ 9pm EDT)

APPEAL [ID: 440] There was an appeal made to re-evaluate the decision made based on the actions Zephyr made to give back the position to Megaman after the contact. The Stewarding team reviewed the scenario, and agreed that Zephyr took the appropriate actions, and that the game's mishandling of the "illegal overtake" was the main culprit. Had it not been for the "illegal overtake" issue, the minor contact and attempt by Zephyr to return the position would not have lead to a loss of position to Mega nor a substantial loss of time. The 2 point penalty assessed to Zephyr will be removed.
APPEAL [ID: 441] There was an appeal made to re-evaluate the decision made and penalty assessed to Bobino. After further review, the Stewarding team is upholding the 2 point penalty. The 3rd point normally assessed for overtaking while making contact will not be applied due to the "illegal overtake" issue with the game. The 2 points is squarely based on how Bobino created the contact with Piboye. Bobino did not have any overtake on Iceman (who was multiple car lengths behind Piboye), dove past Iceman in the braking zone and hit Piboye, who was already turning in appropriately. This was a careless miss of a braking point and the penalty will stand as originally ruled.
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 5: Spain - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (01Nov17 @ 9pm EDT)
[ul]
[li][ID: 442] The Stewards investigated a Turn 1, Lap 1 incident between Zphyr and MBr. When the contact was made, Zephyr's RF tyre was on the white line, which declares that MBr broke rule 8.3 and crowded down too low. With that however, Zephyr made a 3-wide move going into braking zone of Turn 1 and was using the curbing on entrance under his own accord, and was drifting up to the white line with his right side tyres when the contact took place. Rule 13.1 states that the white line is considered the edge of track limits, and curbing is declared out of bounds. Due to both drivers breaking a rule that lead to the contact, this is deemed a racing incident and no points will be penalized.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 7: Canada - Circuit Gilles Villeneuve (15Nov17 @ 9pm EST)
[ul]
[li][ID: 449] The Stewards investigated contact between Iceman153 and Zephyr in Turn 8 of Lap 16. Exiting Turn 7, Iceman got a good run on Zephyr and pulled up side by side with him before the braking zone going into Turn 8. As the cars were side by side, Zephyr misjudged his turn in angle and came in too sharp, which created wheel to wheel contact with Iceman. While Iceman did not receive any damage, he do a complete spin and lost many seconds. Due to crowding in the inside lane and creating contact, Zephyr will be awarded a 2 point penalty.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 16: Japan - Suzuka International Racing Course (31Jan18 @ 9pm EST)
[ul]
[li][ID: 488] The Stewards investigated and incident that happened in T12 of L7 between MBr and Bobino12. MBr had a better run coming off T11 and was able to establish overtake on the right hand side in the long bend that is T12. As the drivers started approaching the braking zone of T13, MBr was holding the white line and then forced into the grass as Bobino crowded him and made slight contact. No damage was had, just lost time as MBr was keeping control of his car. For being found guilty of crowding another vehicle off track, Bobino12 will be awarded a 1 point penalty.[/li]
[li][ID: 489] The Stewards investigated contact that happened exiting T11 of L11 between MBr and Iceman153. MBr had a very wide enterence into the corner (around 1.5 car's width), leaving the inside line wide open. Iceman drove his car down to the white line and held his position. MBr then tried to drive down to the white line before Iceman could establish any overtake.This is when the contact happened between the 2 drivers. While PRL rules state it is the trailing's car duty to avoid the contact, the maneuver MBr made would also be looked at as a block attempt in a turn. Due to the nature of this incident and both drivers equally responsible for this contact, the Stewarding Team has deemed this a racing deal and no penalties will be awarded.[/li]
[li][ID: 490] The Stewards investigated contact that happened in the long curve of T7 on L27 between MBr and Deadzero. MBr had a run and established overtake on the left hand side of the track. At the point of contact, MBr was drift to the right, away from the white line, as Dead slightly drifted to the left. Due to the nature of both drivers trajectories lead to the contact, this is deemed a racing deal and no penalties will be awarded.[/li]
[li][ID: 491] In violation to Rule 3.9 and starting the re-started race on a different tyre compound from which he qualified on, MBr will be awarded a 30 second time penalty against his final race time.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 19: Brazil - Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (28Feb18 @ 9pm EST) 
[ul]
[li][ID: 497] The Stewards investigated contact that happened between AtomicTurtle and Falco Bronzo on the Front Stretch on L20. Atomic was the trailing car behind Falco and used the slipstream to get a run and try to establish overtake before Turn 1. Falco was riding in the middle of the straight as Atomic made his move to the left side. Watching the video in 1/4 slow motion, it has been determined that even though it appeared that Falco was going to make a late attempt at a block, Atomic's car was vering back to the right and both cars made contact as they veered in different directions. Since both drivers have blame in creating this contact, the Stewards are deeming this incident to be a racing deal and no penalty will be awarded.[/li]
[li][ID: 498] The Stewards investigated contact that happened between Bobino12 and MBr in T3 of L1. Bobino cut to the right too much and all 4 wheels crossed the white line of Turn 2, which is against PRL rules even if the game did not give a penalty for it. While Bobino then tried to establish the left side line of Turn 3, Mbr as the trailing car tried to establish over take as well and thats when contact happened between the RF of MBr and the LR of Bobino, which resulted in a half spin and loss of positions for Bobino. While it is the trailings car duty to avoid contact if possible, Bobino cutting the white line directly before the contact has lead the Stewarding Team to determine this as a racing incident and no penalties will be awarded since both driver share a fault in this incident.[/li]
[li][ID: 499] The Stewards investigatd a report of unsafe rejoin/impeding another driver entering the track between T1-T3 on L20. Deadzero went wide in T1 and rejoind the track with what was deemed a safe distance from the next approaching vehicle. When noticing the incoming vehicle, Dead then pulled to the left, all the way off the track, to avoid effecting the upcoming vehicle and giving up the position to the driver. The Stewards have deemed Deadzero's actions acceptable and he will not be penalized for impeding another vehicle.[/li]
[/ul]
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,077
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
(Yes I know, this has absolutely 0 effect on any points situation, but the Stewarding Team has to do its due diligence on any submission that we receive)

Round 20: Abu Dhabi - Yas Marina Circuit (07Mar18 @ 9pm EST)
[ul]
[li][ID: 501] The Stewards investigate contact in T17 of L3 between Sucuri and DeadZero. Leading up to T17, Sucuri made a move to establish overtake on the left side of the track with Dead on the right side. Sucuri's left side tyres were on the left curb to give more space, but contact still happened between Sucuri's right rear and Dead's left front from Dead coming over too far to the left. This contact pushed Sucuri on to the run-off with no damage, though he was able to complete the overtake from Dead. Unfortunately, there was no video provided from Dead to rule this as a possible net-code issue. So, due to creating contact with another vehicle that resulted in a minor time loss with no damage and not preventing the overtake from happening, Deadzero will be awarded a 1 point penalty.[/li]
[/ul]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top