Precision Racing League

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site and signup to race in our different series but firstly make sure you head over to the "New Members Start Here" in the League Information section.

  • 2021 Season 2 Signups are open !

    GT3 Sportscar Series is now full but we still have room in the Tuesday LMP2/GTE Sportscar Series for our sportscar enthusiasts.

    For our NASCAR Drivers, we have a few more spots in the Sunday Cup Series and the Wednesday Truck Series.

    Our open wheel Indy Pro 2000 series also has a few spots left for Season 2.

Stewards Reports, Protest & Appeal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,030
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 1: Australia - Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit (28Mar18 @ 9pm EDT)
[ul]
[li][ID: 506] For progressing the session too soon before the organizers wishes which is against a League rule, Nsnerfing will be awarded a 3 point penalty[/li]
[li][ID: 507] The Stewards investigated an incident between Zephyr and Z3Mikey exiting T3 of L4. Mikey was a lapped car with Zephyr coming up behind him on the lead lap. Zephyr closed the gap quickly going into the braking zone, and was a late blue flag for Mikey. There is no blue flag violation in this incident due to the small amount of time given to the lapped vehicle on corner entry. On the exit of T3, Mikey had wheel spin on acceleration which caused Zephyr to run into the back of him and receiving minor wing damage. Mikey immediately moved to the left and off of the racing surface to give way to Zephyr. Even in a lapping situation, Rule 8.3 states it is the responsibility of the trailing car to not create the contact. While Mikey did have poor acceleration on exit, his car was not deemed erratic nor did he attempt to impede Zephyr. The Stewards have deemed this a racing deal and no penalties will be awarded.[/li]
[li][ID:508] For impeding the hotlap of Zephyr in qualifying while only being on his outlap, Bobino12 will be awarded a 1 point penalty.[/li]
[li][ID: 509] The Stewards investigated an incident between Bobino12 and Darklol in T14 of L2. Going down the straight leading to T14, Bobino was in 7th, with Dark in 9th. Zephyr established overtake on Bobino and took the inside line through the turn to complete the overtake. With Bobino giving a wide entry into the turn, that left the inside line open. Dark made an acceptable move to take the side line while Bobino was trying to also come down to establish it as well. The wheel to wheel contact between the 2 drivers happened on corner exit as Darklol established 3/4 car length overtake. Also after reviewing both driver's POV, there is a small discrepancy between the positioning of both vehicles to each other. To Bobino, Dark did not look to hug the inside as much as he did to Dark's POV, and likewise to Dark it looked like Bobino pinched down more than he did on his POV. Due to visual difference from the drivers and coupled with the fact that the contact did not give either driver damage and no extra loss of position, the Stewards are declaring this a racing deal and no penalty will be awarded.[/li]
[li][ID: 510] The Stewards investigated an incident between Bobino12 and Tron4949 in T14 of L2. Bobino was the leading car with Tron right behind leading into the turn. Bobino did not hug the inside (right) line, allowing Tron to drive the line and claim stake to it to try to establish overtake. However, Tron  veered from that right line and caught the right rear of Bobino, spinning him on exit. This was for position, but the video cutoff too early to see if Tron tried to give the position back or not, so the Stewards could not review that as an addition to the contact created. Due to creating contact for position,, Tron4949 will be awarded a 2 point penalty.[/li]
[/ul]
**Steward's Note: There was an issues brought up in a dialog with a driver concerning a protest involving a separate issue. It is the standard of the Steward Team to evaluate and rule on what is brought up to us. We will not go through videos submitted to try to find other infractions. On the note of videos, please make sure that your video submission also captures the before and after of the infraction being protested. The Steward team does not judge based on what-ifs, the more information we have leading up, and the aftermath after helps us judge accordingly.

Also, the organizers have the right as well to impose penalties themselves for League specific rules. This is more in regards to "off track" issues such as breaking communication rules or other standards that Leagues can make specific to themselves. So please do not hesitate to contact your Leadership for "off track" issues and please limit the Stewarding to "on track" unless you feel it is absolutely necessary. 
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,030
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 3: Bahrain - Bahrain International Circuit (11Apr18 @ 9pm EDT)
[ul]
[li][ID: 517] The Stewards investigated an incident between Iceman153 and Deadzero in "T3" on L2. Iceman was the leading car, with Dead following behind exiting T2. There is a bend on the straight away that is considered T3, but it requires no slowing down at all, so divebombing under braking does not coming into play in this section, only someone driving themselves off of the track completely to try to gain ground (which was not in this case). As the cars approached the bend, Dead was taking up the right side of the track and had a run on Iceman, as Iceman left more than a car's width worth of room to the right. Watching in slow motion, Dead's car stays to the right side, and even moves his right side tyres to the curbing to avoid Ice as he turns his car to try to cover the rights side line late. It could also be seen that Dead's wheel was still turned to the rights as contact was made. The cars touched tyre to tyre and Iceman spun and sustained damage. It was also seen that from Iceman's POV that the car indicator turned red right as Iceman starting turning to the right. The Stewards have determined this was not a late blocking attempt on Iceman's part, and not a divebomb or lack of overtake violation on Dead's part. The gap closed right as Iceman was turning in, and left very little time for Dead to make more of an effort to avoid contact than what he did. The Stewards have declared this incident a racing deal and no points penalty will be awarded.[/li]
[li][ID: 518] The Stewards investigated a report of Deadzero impeding Bobino entering T8 in qualifying on his hot lap while Dead was not. After reviewing the video, the Stewards have declared that Dead kept himself far enough to the left side and was deep enough into the braking zone that he is not guilty of being in position to absolutely effect Bobino's turn entry. MBr was also on the right hand side and even cut the curb to try to avoid impeding Bobino as well. Bobino, while seeing both vehicles, slow himself down a few tenths out of precaution than out of necessity. No penalties will be awarded in this investigation.[/li]
[/ul]
***The Stewards will ask however that drivers please make sure to be 100% aware of their total surroundings, and that it might not be the best idea for 2 drivers who are slow on their in/out lap to be around one another, especially in a tight technical area. If the track has a lot of apron and run off area, do not hesitate to coast in that area in order to not possible risk impeding another driver at all. Thank you for your cooperation.
 

Hootius

Manager
Staff member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
3,030
Location
USA, Florida, Tampa
Full Name
Charles Sumner
iRacing ID
304260
Round 5: Spain - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (25Apr18 @ 9pm EDT)
[ul]
[li][ID: 525] The Stewards investigated a report of crowding between Bobino12 and DeadZero in T1 of L6. Bobino was the leading car down the pit straight with Dead trailing behind. Using the slipstream and DRS, Dead established proper overtake on the righthand side, before the braking zone going into the T1 and was entitled to the inside line of T1. Bobino turned in and did not leave enough room to the right side for Dead, forcing him onto the curbing/grass to avoid contact (Bobino's right tyres ended up right near the white line, which is the line Dead was entitled to). For crowding another driver off track in a defensive manner and not allowing them to take the line they are entitled to, Bobino12 will be awarded a 1 point penalty.[/li]
[/ul]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top