American PS4 ProjCars2 Indy Car League S1-R4 Laguna Seca Recap

The 4th race of our Inaugural Indy Car league took us to a well know circuit in the Project Cars universe, the Mazda Raceway at Laguna Seca. While this is our first visit in the Indy Cars, many drivers have competed here in our GT3 League. Charles Sumner (Hootius) is the defending race winner when it comes to PRL Project Cars competition at Laguna Seca.


The streak would continue again this week in Qualifying, as we would have our 4th different Pole sitter in the 4 races we have had so far. This week saw Tyler McIntosh (MacAttack0922) take the top spot, besting Kyle Ely (Rocksson2Kyle) by 0.451 seconds. Daniel Cervantes (Danny102897)Kyle Spencer (KDawgHonda777), and Aaron Webb (AaronWebb85) would round out the Top 5 in qualifying.


Laguna was more of a survival race than anything else. The track was slick, and the tires did the drivers no extra favors. While there were many offs and pits for new front wings, there race only saw one heavy multi-car accident. On Lap 1, both Charles Sumner (Hootius) and Daniel Lozano (Gordow3497) would have offs and see themselves fall to the back of the field. As they tried to race back up through traffic, contact would be made in the very treacherous downhill hairpin and both drivers would have to pit for repair. Both would recover well with Daniel L. finishing 5th, with Charles behind him in 6th. Up front, it was the Tyler show as he would lead wire to wire and have the cleanest race of the bunch. Tyler would also snag the Fastest Lap of the Race, completing the first ever Hat Trick in the Indy Car League. PRL F1 Champion Edwin Garcia (ForzaAlonso14) would flex his muscles for the first time in the Indy Car League and land the runner-up finish. Edwin did that in impressive fashion as he was the Hard Charger of the Race, going +6 to snag his first podium in the League. Kyle E. would fall back one position and finish 3rd in the race, which would be his first podium in the League. Aaron would round out the Top 5 recap, finishing the race in 4th place, up 1 from his qualifying effort.


Thru 4 races this Season, we have crowned 4 different Pole Sitters, 4 different Winners, 4 different Fast Lap setters and 8 different Podium Finishers out of a possible 12. The competition has been very wide open and shows no signs of slowing down anytime soon.


**Top 10 finishers for Laguna Seca**
1. Tyler McIntosh (MacAttack0922) – 1st Win in the League;
2. Edwin Garcia (ForzaAlonso14) – 1st Podium of the Season
3. Kyle Ely (Rocksson2Kyle) – 1st Podium of the Season
4. Aaron Webb (AaronWebb85)
5. Daniel Lozano (Gordow3497)
6. Charles Sumner (Hootius)
7. Rob Besaw (Xsyse)
8. Mikhail Jackson (Mikhail24RD) 
9. Daniel Cervantes (Danny102897) 
10. Drayton Simpson (_Dray_)


In the Driver’s Championship battle, Charles Sumner (Hootius) caught a break and only lost 1 point after his rough outing at Laguna Seca. AaronWebb (AaronWebb85) jumped up into 2nd place, 12 points back of CharlesTyler McIntosh (MacAttack0922) jumped to 3rd place after his impressive win, 22 back of CharlesDaniel Cervantes’ (Danny102897) DNF would see him fall to 4th in the standings after coming into Laguna Seca in 2nd, currently tied with Rob Besaw (Xsyse) 25 points behind Charles.


The Team Championship widen just a little bit, as Car Ramrod (Charles and Kyle E.) increased their points lead over Gor-X Racing (Rob and Daniel L.), but also lost ground to AZ Racing (Aaron and Edwin) who are now tied for 2nd place, both teams just 21 points back of Car Ramrod.


Next week the crew heads off to Texas to tackle the Road Course portion of Texas Motor Speedway. Each week, you can join one of several of our driver’s who stream from their POVs live, every Friday night at 9:00 PM EST.